In memory of Keith Fletcher’s commitment to Access to Higher Education diplomas in the South West of England, we agreed to award prizes as an Access Validating Agencies (AVA) to our students for their academic achievement and commitment to study.

After much debate, the Access to HE students nominated for the academic year 2022-2023 are:

Keith Fletcher Awards Access to HE 2023 JoannaAchievement Award - Joanna Zelena

Joanna is described as an exemplary student by her lecturers. Joanna immersed herself in all subjects, often using resources from Level 4 and above. Joanna’s achievement is particularly special as she has excelled at NCD in her second language.

Joanna moved over from Poland where she had been working in the industry. Her background and existing experience allowed her to grasp new concepts quickly, and question new ideas.

Joanna’s positive attitude, work ethic and patience never wavered and neither has the quality of her work. The team were delighted to recommend her for the Outstanding Academic Achievement Award and overjoyed when she was given a ‘highly commended’ status from the awarding body, AIM.

Keith Fletcher Awards Access to HE 2023 DeclanCommitment Award – Declan Mackay

Declan was nominated for his steadfast determination to return to study and re-train as a podiatrist. Declan overcame significant challenges. 15 years ago, Declan experienced a life-threatening and life-changing car accident which was followed by months of hospitalisation and the daunting task of having to relearn even the most basic skills.

Declan demonstrated immense resilience and determination despite his short-term memory issues. Initially inspired by nurses during his own medical journey, Declan discovered podiatry and was drawn in by the opportunities and challenges.

Declan will start his degree programme in Podiatry at NCD’s University Centre in September 2023. His remarkable journey and accomplishments serve as a testament to his strength and dedication to his education.

As a result of this nomination, Declan has been declared a joint winner of the Outstanding Commitment to Study Award for all AIM candidates and will now go forward to the national competition.